Skip to main content
Menu menu

The Youth Apprenticeship (YA) program is a rigorous one- or two-year elective statewide program that combines academic and technical instruction with mentored, paid, on-the-job learning that makes a real world connection for students.

How Do Youth Apprenticeships Work?

Youth Apprentices work a minimum of 450 hours at their YA worksite each year of their program and take related high school or college classes to enhance their worksite experiences.

High school juniors and seniors from participating North Central Wisconsin School-to-Career Partnership schools are eligible to participate.

Benefits of Youth Apprenticeship

  • Follow a career pathway from high school to post-secondary institutions or the workforce
  • Earn a paycheck while learning from skilled professionals
  • Experience first-hand connections between high school education and real life work
  • Increase career awareness and improve future employability
  • Receive a state-issued skills certificate which is recognized by employers
  • Develop the necessary skills needed for successful entry-level employment
  • Earn college credit after completion through Credit for Prior Learning opportunities

Youth Apprenticeship Programs

Youth Apprenticeship programs are available in the following categories:

  • Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources
  • Architecture and Construction
  • Finance
  • Graphic Design/Printing
  • Health
  • Hospitality and Tourism
  • Information Technology
  • Manufacturing
  • Marketing
  • Science Technology, Engineering and Math
  • Transportation Distribution and Logistics

Participate in Youth Apprenticeship

Midway through your sophomore or junior year, contact the Youth Apprenticeship Coordinator at your high school or the Regional Youth Apprenticeship Coordinator at NTC — Dina Kilinski at 715.803.1190 or kilinskid@ntc.edu. They will help you complete your Youth Apprenticeship application portfolio so that you can get started.

Youth Apprenticeship Contacts

School Contact Person Email Address
Abbotsford Nicole Kloth den Otter nklothdenotter@abbotsford.k12.wi.us
Antigo Joanie Fisher jfisher@antigoschools.org
Athens Dan Nowak dnowak@athens1.org
Bowler Ryan Foley ryanfoley@bowler.k12.wi.us
Chequamegon Kelly Inman-Patterson kinman@csdk12.net
Colby Taylor Ensign tensign@colby.k12.wi.us
D.C. Everest Aaron Hoffman ahoffman@dce.k12.wi.us
D.C. Everest Idea School Kendra Gilbertson kgilbertson@dce.k12.wi.us
EEA Learning Academy Jennifer Golbach jgolbach@wausauschools.org
Edgar Kris Federwitz kfederwitz@gapps.edgar.k12.wi.us
Loyal Stephanie Donnerbauer sdonnerbauer@loyal.k12.wi.us
Marathon Ryan Winkler rwinkler@marathon.k12.wi.us
Medford Barb Gelhaus gelhaba@medford.k12.wi.us
Menominee Indian Kate Mikle kmikle@misd.k12.wi.us
Mosinee Todd Felch tfelch@mosineeschools.org
Newman Catholic Keri Wulf kwulf@newmancatholicschools.com
Northland Lutheran Andrea Stelter astelter@nlhs.org
Phillips Rebecca Macholl rmacholl@phillips.k12.wi.us
Prentice Cal Kraegenbrink kraecal@prentice.k12.wi.us
Rib Lake Michelle Rhodes mrhodes@riblake.k12.wi.us
Spencer Katrina Rotar krotar@spencer.k12.wi.us
Stratford Marshall Lehman malehman@gapps.stratford.k12.wi.us
Wausau East Der Lo dlo@wausauschools.org
Wausau West Stephanie Jahnke sjahnke@wausauschools.org
White Lake Mandi Spiegelberg mspiegelberg@whitelake.k12.wi.us
Wisconsin Valley Lutheran Lisa Hetherman hetherman@wvlhs.org
Wittenberg-Birnamwood Nancy Resch nancyresch@wittbirn.k12.wi.us

Resources for School-Based Coordinators

Information and resources for school-based coordinators interested in or currently participating in the Youth Apprenticeship Program.

Resources for Employers

Information and resources for employers interested in or currently participating in the Youth Apprenticeship Program.