Skip to main content
Menu menu

The Youth Apprenticeship (YA) program is a rigorous one- or two-year elective statewide program that combines academic and technical instruction with mentored, paid, on-the-job learning that makes a real world connection for students.

Youth Apprentices work a minimum of 450 hours at their YA worksite each year of their program and take related high school or college classes to enhance their worksite experiences.

High school juniors and seniors from participating North Central Wisconsin School-to-Career Partnership schools are eligible to participate.

Benefits of Youth Apprenticeship

There are several benefits associated with participating in the Youth Apprenticeship program, including: earning a paycheck while learning from skilled professionals, receiving high school elective credit, potentially earning college credit through Credit for Prior Learning opportunities, and receiving a state-issued skills certificate, which is recognized by employers and colleges.

Hear From Our Youth Apprentices

The Youth Apprenticeship program provides high school juniors and seniors a chance to explore and get a jump start on their future career.  Hear from students who participated in the program and experienced first-hand how the program has impacted their life and future career.

Kayley McColley, Nursing Assistant Youth Apprentice

Kayley McColley is an alumni Youth Apprentice that participated in the Health program as a Nursing Assistant. Her experience as a Youth Apprentice gave her the confidence and reassurance that Nursing was the career she wanted to pursue.

Connor Knezic, Marketing Youth Apprentice

Connor Knezic currently participates in the Marketing Youth Apprenticeship program with a local manufacturing company. Connor hopes to pursue a degree in Business and his YA experience is providing him a jump start on his career.

Hudson Meverden, Manufacturing Youth Apprentice

Hudson Meverden is an alumni Youth Apprentice who participated in the Manufacturing program as a Maintenance Technician. While participating in the Youth Apprenticeship (YA) program, Hudson also completed the Welding Academy at NTC.

Youth Apprenticeship Programs

Youth Apprenticeship programs are available in the following categories:

  • Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources
  • Architecture and Construction
  • Finance
  • Graphic Design/Printing
  • Health
  • Hospitality and Tourism
  • Information Technology
  • Manufacturing
  • Marketing
  • Science Technology, Engineering and Math
  • Transportation Distribution and Logistics

Participate in Youth Apprenticeship

Midway through your sophomore or junior year, contact the Youth Apprenticeship Coordinator at your high school or the Career Services & Youth Apprenticeship Manager at NTC — Dina Kilinski at 715.803.1190 or kilinskid@ntc.edu. They will help you complete your Youth Apprenticeship application portfolio so that you can get started.

Youth Apprenticeship Contacts

School Contact Person Email Address
Abbotsford Nicole Kloth den Otter nklothdenotter@abbotsford.k12.wi.us
Antigo Joanie Fisher jfisher@antigoschools.org
Athens Dan Nowak dnowak@athens1.org
Bowler Abby Behnke abbybehnke@bowler.k12.wi.us
Chequamegon Kelly Inman-Patterson kinman@csdk12.net
Colby Taylor Ensign tensign@colby.k12.wi.us
D.C. Everest Aaron Hoffman ahoffman@dce.k12.wi.us
D.C. Everest Idea School Kendra Gilbertson kgilbertson@dce.k12.wi.us
eAchieve Academy Jodi Meinen jmeinen@waukesha.k12.wi.us
EEA Learning Academy Jennifer Golbach jgolbach@wausauschools.org
Edgar Kris Federwitz kfederwitz@gapps.edgar.k12.wi.us
Faith Christian Academy Zach Zebro zachzebro@faithca.org
Loyal Stephanie Donnerbauer sdonnerbauer@loyal.k12.wi.us
Marathon Ryan Winkler rwinkler@marathon.k12.wi.us
Medford Barb Gelhaus gelhaba@medford.k12.wi.us
Mosinee Todd Felch tfelch@mosineeschools.org
Newman Catholic Keri Wulf kwulf@newmancatholicschools.com
NTC Alternative High School Marjorie Bock bock@ntc.edu
Northland Lutheran Andrea Stelter astelter@nlhs.org
Phillips Rebecca Macholl rmacholl@phillips.k12.wi.us
Prentice Cal Kraegenbrink kraecal@prentice.k12.wi.us
Rib Lake Michelle Rhodes mrhodes@riblake.k12.wi.us
Rural Virtual Academy Kathy Alexander kathy.alexander@ruralvirtual.org
Spencer Katrina Rotar krotar@spencer.k12.wi.us
Stratford Marshall Lehman malehman@gapps.stratford.k12.wi.us
Wausau East Der Lo dlo@wausauschools.org
Wausau West Taryn Fuller tfuller@wausauschools.org
White Lake Trina Woiak twoiak@whitelake.k12.wi.us
Wisconsin Valley Lutheran Lisa Hetherman hetherman@wvlhs.org
Wittenberg-Birnamwood Nancy Resch nancyresch@wittbirn.k12.wi.us

Resources for School-Based Coordinators

Information and resources for school-based coordinators interested in or currently participating in the Youth Apprenticeship Program.

Resources for Employers

Information and resources for employers interested in or currently participating in the Youth Apprenticeship Program.