Skip to main content
Menu menu

Are you wondering when your loans and grants will be disbursed? Do you want to know when book vouchers will be available? Or are you hoping to find help with filling out your FAFSA?

Below, we’ve provided a list of key dates and events that will help to better understand the financial aid process and the timing of important checkpoints.

IMPORTANT CHANGE to the disbursement of all Federal Direct Student Loans: All student loans will be split between two equal disbursements each semester.

This applies to single-semester loans (summer only, fall only, and spring only) as well as loans that are automatically split between fall/spring. The first disbursement can be made according to the disbursement schedule while the second disbursement will be made at the midpoint of the semester. Some students may not receive a refund after the first disbursement if all charges have not been paid, whereas other students may receive a partial refund followed by another refund later in the semester. Please keep this in mind when budgeting. If for some unexpected reason a student drops below half-time enrollment (fewer than 6 enrolled credits) at the time that the second disbursement would occur, the second half of any student loans will be canceled.

Due to federal regulations, the Department of Education requires NTC to delay the first disbursement of a loan for new student loan borrowers up to 30 days beyond the student’s start date.

2019 Fall Semester Disbursement Dates

Disbursement Date Type of Financial Aid
Week ending September 20 First Installment of loans disbursed to student accounts
Week ending September 27 Pell and other grants disbursed to student accounts
Week ending October 4 First installment of loans disbursed to student accounts for first-time borrowers
Week ending November 1 Second Installment of loans disbursed to student accounts (all borrowers)

Please Note: Following September 20, there will be 1 disbursement per week of Pell, other grants, and loans every Thursday (not including any scheduled breaks during the semester)

Students must maintain all eligibility requirements at the time of disbursement to receive Federal Student Aid funding. It is the student’s responsibility to review all financial aid policies and the Financial Aid Guide. Students must complete a FAFSA every year. Students must be making satisfactory academic progress to continue to receive financial aid.

Book Vouchers

Book vouchers are an easy way for you to utilize financial aid funds to cover books and other materials. You must have financial aid in excess of the cost of your tuition/fees to charge books against your financial aid.

2019 Fall Semester Book Voucher/Charging Schedule

From To Vouchers Expire
Monday, July 29 @ 8:00 am Friday, September 13 @ 5:00 pm Saturday, September 14 @ 12:00 pm
Thursday, September 19 @ 5:00 pm Monday, September 23 @ 5:00 pm Monday, September 23 @ 7:00 pm
Thursday, September 26 @ 5:00 pm Tuesday, October 1 @ 12:00 pm Wednesday, October 2 @ 12:00 pm
Thursday, October 3 @ 5:00 pm Tuesday, October 8 @ 12:00 pm Wednesday, October 9 @ 12:00 pm
Thursday, October 10 @ 5:00 pm Tuesday, October 15 @ 12:00 pm Wednesday, October 16 @ 12:00 pm
Thursday, October 17 @ 5:00 pm Tuesday, October 22 @ 12:00 pm Wednesday, October 23 @ 12:00 pm
Thursday, October 24 @ 5:00 pm Tuesday, October 29 @ 12:00 pm Wednesday, October 30 @ 12:00 pm
Thursday, October 31 @ 5:00 pm Tuesday, November 5 @ 12:00 pm Wednesday, November 6 @ 12:00 pm
Thursday, November 7 @ 5:00 pm Tuesday, November 12 @ 12:00 pm Wednesday, November 13 @ 12:00 pm
Thursday, November 14 @ 5:00 pm Tuesday, November 19 @ 12:00 pm Wednesday, November 20 @ 12:00 pm

Please Note: Book Vouchers expire prior to running the following week’s financial aid refund process to avoid any late Campus Bookstore charges that may not get deducted before that week’s financial aid refunds are processed and distributed to students.